Skip to content

No, I’m not dead

May 31, 2011
https://gr8findings.wordpress.com

A little snapshot of my trunk show display, photo courtesy Jason Sizemore

But of course I wouldn’t blame you if you thought I was … six weeks is a long time to be out of touch in the blog world … but what an adventure I’ve had.

Sandwiched in between about 48 different concerts, field-trips, recitals and end-of-school year events with my sons, things were busier than ever in the “making new jewelry” department. In particular, I got to make a few very special pieces for some wonderful friends … a simple chain necklace for Joely’s first mother’s day and a byzantine bracelet for my friend Nola, who now lives in NJ but went to high school with me almost 30 years ago (yikes that makes me feel old).

And while Etsy and blogging has definitely helped me make some very good friends with a common interest in jewelry, it never ceases to delight me to make something beautiful for a friend from my past.

I was also in a frenzy making new items for a trunk show hosted by my friend Jenn (with a lot of help from my sister and our friend Jason). What a thrill that was! I was gobsmacked by the enthusiasm of everyone who attended and am still feeling a bit of a blush when I recall all the kind things that people had to say about my work.  Of course, the copious amounts of delicious wine probably helped, too. I’m deliberately not sharing the picture Jenn took of me at the end of the evening with a jumbo glass of Chardonnay, but you can probably easily imagine it.

And just this past weekend I had the pleasure of teaching a wire working class to some other mom’s from my son’s school. They were such terrific students, and each of them created a beautiful bracelet and pair of earrings. Plus, during the class I overheard one mom say to another how much more she appreciated hand-crafted jewelry now that she knows firsthand what goes into it. They also had so much fun picking out different combinations of stones for earrings that I think I’m going to try to come up with another party format to try out ~ instead of purchasing finished jewelry, I’ll figure out a way for people to put together their own mix of beads for me to put together on the spot. Doesn’t that sound fun?

Anyway, now that all the parties are in the past tense (for now), I’ve got the task of putting some of my backlog jewelry on my Etsy store as well catching up on quite a bit of bookkeeping. Good thing the local bead show is next weekend! Will definitely let you know what goodies I find there ~ can’t wait!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 11:02 pm

    Glad you’re back, girl – we missed you! Sounds like you’ve been busy!

  2. June 1, 2011 11:16 pm

    Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

