Skip to content

BTW: The Guest Desk Post

March 3, 2011

Making so many new blog friends this past month or two through Lori Anderson’s wonderful blog hop has me hooked on the magic of Bead Table Wednesday. I’m a beadaholic voyeur, and I just love getting a sneak peak into everybody’s behind-the-scenes. However, I’m just not quite ready to commit to sharing my own works in progress yet because I’ve been in sporadic creation mode, thanks largely to an unrelated book deadline. So that’s where Mr. Eli comes in.

My 10-year-old son is a such an artist. I was in his room earlier today, snapping a few pictures of some extra furniture we’re going to put up on Craigslist, when I was struck with the arrangement of boy stuff on his desk. We redid his room around the holidays and since then he has been in love with having his own desk. He hangs out there for hours at a time, drawing cartoons and rearranging his coin collection. I’m not sure why he was referring to the vintage woodworking book, but I’m sure I’ll be hearing about some big plans soon.

One of the things I find most heartwarming about his desk arrangement is how proudly he displays a trophy my dad received when he was a boy. 1953 “Boy of the Year” in Rushville, Indiana. My dad died before my kids were born, but through mementos like these I think they really are connecting with him.

Here’s another little detail that made me smile — check out the tree bark messages  he was working on. Not sure where they are destined to end up, but he clearly has a point of view.

Here’s one more Eli-related item to share, though it wasn’t from his desk. Earlier this summer he fell in love with a Medusa pendant from Green Girls Studio. (I wrote about his fascination with in another post — if you’re curious, click here). Anyway, he was so in love with it that I bought him one of his own for Christmas, and this is the necklace he made. Isn’t it amazing? I helped him crimp the ends, but he chose all the beads himself. Maybe when I get around to posting my own BTW we’ll have a collaborative project to share.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sal permalink
    March 3, 2011 1:48 pm

    Your son must be a very creative child. I am sure the two of you will have many fun times of creating jewelry together.

    • March 3, 2011 1:55 pm

      Thanks, Sal ~ what can I say? My super-talented and crafty mom has been a huge inspiration to us both 🙂

  2. Pam permalink
    March 4, 2011 9:16 pm

    Great post. I love reading about your family and sharing it with Jeff as well while we wait out the kiddos and their incessant need to use the potty after lights out. Jeff just added, “I’m sure Sam would have really enjoyed Isiah and Eli.”

Leave a Reply

