Skip to content

Follow the Yellow Brick Road … to FIND BEAD SOUP

February 26, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A quick update before you begin … I’ve only hopped around to 20-30 sites so far, and I’m chagrined to see the brevity of other posts, so by all means just take a look at this little slideshow featuring Stephanie & Chris Haussler’s awesome beads and keep hopping  (the formal list of links is at the bottom of this post). We’ve all got a lot of ground to cover. But come back again if you have a few minutes to hear my neurotic story about how well I can get hung up working outside my comfort zone. I’d love to know if I’m the only one who can drive herself nuts like this.

 

You know that scene in The Wizard of Oz when our dear friend Dorothy opens the door of her sweet homey house and finds herself awash in technicolor splendor? Do you remember how startled you felt the first time you saw it? Like firecrackers, right?

Personally, I still gasp a little bit when watching that part of the movie, and it seems like I had a similar experience with this, my second of Lori Anderson‘s amazing bead soup challenges.

You see, I grew up in east central Indiana. It’s not Kansas by any means, but there are plenty of farms filling up that flat land, and I lived through my fair share of tornado drills growing up. If  I were Dorothy and my house had just been whirling around the treetops while a wicked witch bicycled past my window, well you can bet I would have been relieved to feel that house stop moving. But would I have opened the door like brave Dorothy did?

Probably not. Something tells me I that I likely would have stayed inside that dim little bungalow waiting for Auntie Em to come home and make me some breakfast (biscuits and sausage gravy perhaps). That is, unless I had the internet and found my way to a bead soup challenge or two.

For this round, Lori paired me, a devoted monochromatic silver freak, with a lampworking duo in Nebraska, Stephanie and Chris Haussler of Pixybug Designs. Chris has a true gift for making adorable bead figures with all colors of glass, and Stephanie complements his talent with inspired creations of her own, but here is where our paths diverge: their work reflects an abundance of lighthearted themes and playful colors, whereas mine does not.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy color. Many of my designs feature beads and gemstones that have delicious, brilliant colors. However, just about everything I make involves using one color at a time. I’m rarely confident when it comes to mixing things up, and so just one peek at Stephanie and Chris’ flickrstream assured me I was going to have to break out of my comfort zone with this challenge. I waited as patiently as I could, alternating between a sense of manic excitement and mind-numbing dread for their package. Then, sometime in the middle of January on yet another dark and gloomy snow day, it arrived. I tentatively opened it. Inside I found a color explosion — what seemed like dozens of bright little packages, all bundled together in valentine-themed tissue paper.

There were green and blue seed beads of all sizes and shapes, blue and green crystal beads, lucite leaves and lampwork spacers in apple green, turquoise blue and purple, green silk thread, silver chain and an adorable heart-shaped toggle clasp … It all went so well together, my first thought was “well it’s a good thing Stephanie was so generous and sent so many beads because I probably don’t have any in my stash that would work with these.”

And then I opened up the special organza bag. Inside I found a field of violets, Chris’ exquisite cylindrical focal bead that showed the earth and sky in glorious Spring. The surface of this bead was literally covered with a half dozen delicate purple flowers. Somewhere in the back of my mind I thought about holding my breath, just in case a bunch of munchkins tumbled out of the package next.

I was overwhelmed with the beautiful beads they had sent me, and frankly just a little scared of falling short. So then I decided to do what I sometimes do best: procrastinate. I set them on my shelf for a few weeks, taking them out every time a friend came over so I could show off their beauty. But I just couldn’t feel a vision forming for what I could create.

Finally, with the deadline looming, I sat down at my bead table, spread this beautiful mix of color around me and asked my dear old friend Panic to help keep me company (are you good friends with her, too?). Anyway, there I was listening to Panic chatter on about how I never really learned how to take my craft seriously when I realized that the particular granny smith apple-like shade of green  Chris used in his beads looked remarkably similar to a strand of dyed magnesite ovals that I purchased long ago. And then I remembered some purple fluorite that had been tucked away along with a strand of cherry quartz. Adding my own stones to the mix I was struck by how well they all seemed to match, but I still wasn’t sure how to pull them together until I decided to try the baby step approach.

You know the drill: don’t think about how you’re going to cross the big vast expanse of space before you. Instead, just put one foot in front of the other and see how it goes. In this case, however, it was color that held me captive. I set the blue and green beads to one side of my bead board. These could mirror the way Chris had stacked blue and green together representing earth and sky. Naturally the purple and pink beads reminded me of flowers, so I arranged those on the other side, along with some green crystals to represent the leaves. But then I was stuck again. I couldn’t really think of something to use as a unifying force to hold the sections together.

I turned to Panic and asked, “What color goes with color?” but she simply laughed and pointed to the pile of silver wire that’s never far from reach.

“Use that, silly. You always do.”

Panic made a good point, so I quickly started working on some wrapped coil beads using 18 gauge and 24 gauge wire. Only now that I’m writing this blog post does it occur to me that these coiled shapes have a bit of a “tornado” quality to them (don’t you love it when you find layers of meaning you didn’t know were there?)

Anyway, I used these “tornadoes” to separate each block of color, and then sprinkled some silver spacers in between for overall balance. I tend to keep chunky necklaces a little longer, so I decided to double up the the chain and use that in the back as a long extender. I sat back and surveyed the finished results.

“It looks great,” said Panic. I could tell that she meant it, but there was a little catch in her voice, too, like she was disappointed I had finished so quickly.

“But do you think it looks like me?” I asked.

“Of course it looks like you. You made it. You used your own beads in it, too. What more do you need to convince you?”

Panic was never one for lingering around after she wasn’t needed, so she grabbed her red slippers and headed toward the door. “Maybe this experience will show you some new paths,” she added as the door softly closed behind her.

Long after Panic left I sat thinking about the necklace. It felt so vibrant and alive in my hands, and just downright colorful. Like it had been made with purpose, by someone who knew where they were going from the start. How can you expect to find a new path when you’re too hung up on staying in your comfort zone to even look? And that’s how I suppose this story of mine circles back to our good friend Dorothy.

That young lady with the amazing pipes found her world turned upside down (quite literally) and had no clue where she was when everything  came to a crashing halt. But she opened the door anyway and found a beautiful new world just beyond her front step. She trusted those around her and found the adventure of a lifetime. Now I know I’m going to have to remember that girl the next time I get a little stuck in a little design rut of my own making.

Want to skip over to another blog in this challenge to see what path they followed? Here’s a list of all the participants (I’m #167). Follow … Follow … Follow … Follow … Follow the Yellow Brick Road ….

1.  Lori Anderson, Pretty Things (your hostess)
2. Kitty Durmaj, Perles and Life
3.  Michelle Heim, Life In the Bead Lane
4.  Lisa Petrillo, Lucid Moon Studio
5.  Anitra Gordy, Leelu Creations
6.  Paige Maxim, Paige Maxim Designs
7.  Marianna Boylan, Pretty Shiny Things
8.  Cheryl Roe, BeadRoe
9.  Heidi Post, Ex Post Facto
10.  Cindy Wimmer, Sweet Bead Studio

11.  Terri Gauthier, Blooming Ideas
12.  Rachel Walsh, Balanced Crafts
13.  Marian Hertzog, M’s Place
14.  Mary McGraw, MK’s Musings
15.  Sarabeth Burke, Chronicles of Sarita
16.  Deci Worland, Gem Trails
17.  Erin Prais-Hintz, Treasures Found
18.  Laura Zeiner, Stick Lizard Designs
19.  Kristin Latimer, MJM Jewelry Designs
20.  Cathryn Brooks-Williams, Chile Cats

21.  Holly Westfall, Silver Rose Designs
22.  Janna Harttgen, Palima-Lim
23.  Libby Leuchtman, Libby Leu
24.  Rebecca Anderson, Songbeads
25.  Deb Hunter, Living On Air
26.  Diana Ptaszynski, Suburban Girl Studio
27.  Jennifer VanBenschoten, VanBeads
28.  Margot Potter, The Impatient Crafter
29.  Cyndi Lavin, Beading Arts
30.  Courtney Breul, Beads by Breul

31.  Stefanie Teufel, Stefanie’s Sammelsurium
32.  Patricia Gasparino, My Life Under the Bus
33.  Tari Khars, Pearl and Pebble
34.  Kristi Bowman-Gruel, Kristi Bowman Design
35.  Jayne Capps, Mama’s Got to Doodle
36.  Becky Fairclough, Chameleons Designs
37.  Evie and Beth McCord, EB Bead & Metal Works
38. Lynne Bowland, Islandgirl’s Insights
39.  Barbara Lewis, Painting With Fire
40.  Lorelei Eurto, Inside the Studio

41.  Stacy Hartis, Sissy & Jack’s
42.  Jennifer Cameron, Glass Addictions
43.  Marcie Abney, La Bella Joya
44.  Johanna Rhodes, Fire Phoenix Creations
45.  Nan Emmett, Spirit Rattles
46.  Melissa Mesara, One Eared Pig
47.  Amanda Davie, Articulations
48.  Cherin Poovey, Lanyard Lady
49.  Virginia Joste, ViviBijoux

50.  Andrew Thornton, The Writing and Art of Andrew Thornton
51.  Lori Dorrington, Lori’s Glassworks
52.  Melanie Brooks, Earthenwood Studio Chronicles
53.  Kate Gardenghi, Tropical Blonde
54.  Serena Trent, PinkIce Jewel’s Blog
55. Malin de Koning, Beading by Malin de Koning
56.  Shai Williams, Shaiha’s Ramblings
57.  Francy Inman, 8 Second Studio
58.  Amy Freeland, Copper Diem
59.  Lisa Liddy, Joolz By Lisa

60.  Sandi Lee James,  Do Be Do Bead Do
61.  Mary Harding, Mary Harding Bead Blog
62.  Stacey Curry, Star Hitched Wagon
63.  Leslie Gidden, Mad Maggie Designs
64.  Elisabeth Auld, Beads For Busy Gals
65.  Niky Sayers, Silver Nik Nats
66.  Linda Djokic, Lutka and Co.
67.  Tracy Bell, Copper, Glass, and Recycled Trash
68.  Laurel Steven, Rue’s Daftique
69.  Ingrid McCue, Wrapped In Silver

70.  Birgitta Lejonklou, Create With Spirit
71.  Diana Hawkey, Diana Hawkey
72.  Norma Turvey, Moonlit Fantaseas
73.  Jeanette Ryan, Jeanette Blix
74.  Jackie Ryan, Silver Lodge Gems
75.  Jean Yates, Snap Out of it Jean, There’s Beading to Be Done!
76.  Debbie Goering, Prairie Emporium
77.  Valerie Norton, Hot Art
78.  Jana Trupovniece, Stories of the Secret Garden
79.  Amy Severino, Amy Beads

80.  Emma Thomas, Fred Beans Nook
81.  Karen Zanco, Everyday Gypsy
82.  Suzann Sladcik Wilson, Beadphoria
83.  Janet McDonald, Singing Woods
84.  Dana James, Dana’s Jewelry Designs
85.  Kristina Johansson, Wild Roses and Blackberries
86.  CJ Bauschka, CJ Bauschka
87.  Angela Barribea, Re: Angela Rae
88. Marcy Lamberson, Studio Marcy
89.  Tanya Floyd, Glass Migrations

90.  Lisa Kavanaugh, Beading Bliss
91.  Sue Hodgkinson, Hello Gorgeous
92.  Jenni Connolly, Jenni’s Bead
93.  Nally Parfyonova, Nally’s Creations
94.  Karyn White, Releases By Rufydoof
95. Emanda Johnson, Artemisia Studio
96.  Sandy Richardson, Sandy’s Coloring Box
97.  Cindy Dolezal,  Cindy Dolezal Designs
98.  Stacie Stamper, Park Avenue
99. Mallory Hoffman, For the Love of Beads

100.  Linda Landig, Linda’s Bead Blog and Meanderings
101.  Nicole Valentine-Rimmer, N. Valentine Studio
102.  Jacinta Meyers, Jamberrysong’s Creations
103.  Charlene Gary, Gray Girl Studios
104.  Rubiee Hayes, Glitter and Keys Galore
105.  Marge Beebe, Rock Creek Creations
106.  Elizabeth Freeman, Turquoise Sky
107.  Shelby Foxwell, Sundown Bead Designs Rhetoric
108.  Lynda Moseley, Diva Designs
109.  Grace Danel,  Grace Beading
110.  Lois Moon, Que Onda Quitman

111.  Agnes Shapiro, Beader Bubbe
112.  Terry Carter, Tapping Flamingo
113.  Judy Glende, Judith B. Designs
114.  Mary Ellen Parker, Bee Tree By Me
115. Barbara Bechtel, Second Surf
116.  Charlene Sevier, The Bead Dreamer
117. Alice Craddick, Alice’s Beads and Baubles
118.  Cory Celaya, Art With Moxie
119.  Ronda Adams, The Ravished Heart
120.  Sandi Volpe, Sandi Volpe Designs

121. Anna Lear, The Laughing Raven
122. Susie Hibdon, Vintagesusie & Wings
123.  Amanda Austin, Sea Shore Glass
124.  Jennifer Velasquez, Jen Judd Rocks
125.  Hazel Ward, All Those Things
126.  Brenda Salzano, Salzanos
127.  Dee Gordon, Runako Designs by Dee
128.  Anna Denisova, Anita-M
129.  Margaret Saari, Mags-Jewelry

130.  Genea Crivello-Knable, Genea Beads
131.  Penny Neville, Copper Penny
132.  Angela Blasingame, Hopemore
133. Helena Fritz, Beadwork by H’s Blog
134. Stephanie LaRose, Confessions of a Bead Hoarder
135. Stephanie Haussler, PixyBug Designs
136. Diane Cook, Rosa & Josies
137.  Maryse Thillens, Glass Bead Art
138.  Jennifer Pride, Jewelry by J.P.
139.  Shannon Chomanczuk, For My Sweet Daughter

140.  Lisa Godfrey, Bead Happy
141.  Heather Pyle, Welcome to My  Muse
142.  Regina Santerre, Regina’s Writings
143.  Liz DeLuca, Creative Arty Facts
144.  Sig Wynne-Evans, Beaded Bear’s Nonsense
145.  Loretta Carstensen, Loretta’s Boutique
146.  Raida Disbrow, Havana Beads
147.  Amber Dawn, Inventive Soul
148.  Shelly Graves, Stars Dance With Me
149.  Jess Italia Lincoln, Vintaj Blog

150. JJ Jacobs, Coming Abstractions
151.  Carrie Tahquechi, Carrie T
152.  Staci Smith, Staci Louise Originals
153.  Katarzyna Kwiatkowska, Quiet Area
154.  Ema Kilroy, Ema K Designs
155. Magdalena Sikora, Poranna Gazeta
156.  Nicole Keller, Nicki’s Reef
157.  Ann Rishell, My Critical Eye
158.  Noemi Baena, Fire, Metal, and Color
159. Christa Murphy, Adventures of One Beady Woman

160.  Barbara Blaszczyk, Labotorium Flory
161.  Collette Collins, Firefly Myst
162.  Carola Greiser, Polymer Clay Shed
163.  Joanna Kopijczuk, Bizuteria z Filcu
164. LeAnn Weih, Summers Studio
165.  Cassandra Watsham, Design by Cassandra
166. Anna Motz, Stunning
167.  Shea Zukowski, Gr8findings <<<YOU ARE HERE
168.  Susan Kennedy, Sue Beads
169.  Lisa Boucher, Lisa’s Clay Happenings

170.  Hope Smitherman, Crafty Hope
171.  Alison Crenshaw, Beads by Earth Tones
172.  Dorcas Midkiff, Wondrous Strange Designs
173.  Melissa Rediger, Sea of Glass
174.  Marina Dobrynina, Savon Feutre
175.  Julie Nordine, Julie Nordine | Credit River Art Glass
176.  Menka Gupta, Menka’s Blog
177. Patsy Evins, Patsy Evins Studio
178.  Cherrie Fick, En La Lumie’re
179.  Suzette Bentley, Ellie’s Bijoux

180.  Molly Alexander, Beautifully Broken Me
181.  Lyn Foley, Lyn Foley Wearable Art
182. Tara Plote, The Newbie Beader’s Blog
183. Natalie Schuetz, Natalie S Perlen
184. Kim Hutchinson, Running on Ink
185. Haley Frank, Wide Eyed Smilin
186. Grace Caputo, Suddenly Last Summer
187. Marie-Noel Voyer-Cramp, Skye Jewels
188. Erin Siegel, Erin Siegel Jewelry
189.  Janea McDonald, Organized Chaos

190.  Kristi Evenson, Colie Bug & Co.
191.  Linda Inhelder, Must Haves Jewelry
192.  Hilary Frye, FryeStyle
193. Whitney Lassini, Whitney Lassini
194. Nancy Schindler, The Rabbit Muse
195. Pam Brisse, The Blue Between
196. Beth Bricker, Vintage Sweets
197.  Ruthie Stickney, Rose Works Jewelry and Gifts
198.  Rose Noble, Lady Noble Designs
199. Karen Williams, Baublicious

200.  Claire Maunsell, The Next Bend
201.  Christine Damm, Stories They Tell
202.  Kerry Bogert, Kab’s Creative Concepts
203.  Wendy Blum, Sand & Sea Designs
204.  Juli Cannon, Julsbeads
205.  Jenny Robledo, La Dona Boutique
206.  Krista French, French Elegant Jewelry
207.  Pam Krinski, Ewa Beads
208.  Melissa Meman, Melissa Meman, Art, Life, Love
209.  Dana Jones, Dana’s Jewelry
210.  Shirley Moore, Homeschooling Life

67 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris and Stephanie Haussler permalink
    February 26, 2011 8:07 am

    Shea,

    Very lovely! We love what you have done with what we sent. Chris has always wanted to see what someone would do with one of his florals and now we know. Thank you for the wonderful pieces you sent us too.

  2. February 26, 2011 12:22 pm

    YUM!!! It looks like Spring – and a quite delicious Spring at that! Happy Hopping!!!

  3. February 26, 2011 12:30 pm

    Such a great focal to work with! Love that you incorporated all the colors from the focal in the necklace. Great job!

  4. LeAnn permalink
    February 26, 2011 3:03 pm

    And break out of your comfort zone you surely did! This is fantastic. Just blazing with bright spring.

  5. February 26, 2011 3:43 pm

    It really looks like you’re a pro at what you made! Don’t sell yourself short!!

  6. February 26, 2011 4:37 pm

    #209 here…lovely necklace, you are ready for Easter now…great job…

  7. February 26, 2011 5:18 pm

    That’s one of the wonderful things about this bead soup. It can force us to work out of our confort zone and in return, make some wonderful things. Great bead soup results!

  8. February 26, 2011 5:18 pm

    Love the Springy colors! I didn’t get a chance to read your entire blog post but I will try to come back later. I hope you’re enjoying the party!

  9. February 26, 2011 5:28 pm

    Very pretty color combination, love the way designed them.

  10. February 26, 2011 5:40 pm

    It’s a lovely spring design! Makes me look forward to the weather warming up!

  11. February 26, 2011 6:26 pm

    ha ha…wonderful story about Panic!! too cute. You’re piece turned out wonderful..very nice job and the colors are so refreshing…what a great job!

  12. February 26, 2011 7:27 pm

    Hi Shea — I LOVE this post!! Panic has been one of my great design assistance along with p
    Procrastination. You have done it! (Next time you don’t even have to consult Panic — just get all “Dorothy” with it.)

    Isn’t the swop hop fun?

    Emanda
    ArtymeziaATyahooDOTcom

    • February 26, 2011 7:38 pm

      **note to self: do not allow yourself to be distracted with editing a post.
      For example “with p Procrastination” should be just, “with Procrastination”

      Emanda

  13. Kristen permalink
    February 26, 2011 7:51 pm

    Not only did Panic set you straight (a friend of mine too, yes) you made this ROCK! I so know how you feel but you took a bigger step then me, you joined! Not only did you create gorgeousness your post itself was inspiring!

  14. February 26, 2011 8:12 pm

    I love your piece it looks like spring.

  15. February 26, 2011 9:11 pm

    You did a wonderful job incorporating all the colors of the focal. And I loved your story. I know what you mean about coming out of our monochromatic world. It can be scary, but at the same time a huge adventure. One that seems to have arrived at the end of the Yellow Brick Road. While we may all want to go back home, we will all carry with us impressions from our journey. Great work!

  16. February 26, 2011 9:29 pm

    LOL! I love the story (I’m best buds with Panic and her twin sister, Freakout). But I have to say, I would never have known you aren’t a mixed-color person. Me, I’m ALLLLL about color and of course am in LOVE with your piece! I think you did EXCEPTIONALLY well.

    Now tell Panic to shove off.

  17. February 26, 2011 10:49 pm

    Ohhhh, yes, Panic and I are BFF…. But hello, that necklace is gorgeous! What’s this about working monochromatic? Really? Coulda fooled me! LOL

  18. Wendy permalink
    February 27, 2011 1:11 am

    You did a great job! The colors and design are beautiful! 🙂

  19. Lisa permalink
    February 27, 2011 4:20 am

    Well, you should hang out with Panic more often, or better yet, send her over to me. That necklace is gorgeous. I love how you arranged the color and you had beautiful beads to work with. BRAVO!

  20. Birgitta permalink
    February 27, 2011 6:33 am

    mmmmmmmmmmm ….. love those colors …..almost want to eat those lovely beads like candy!
    nice show of the design…need to learn how to do that 🙂

  21. February 27, 2011 8:40 am

    The necklace is well executed and beautiful- you achieved balance.

    I loved your blog post- you captured my attention from the first sentence. I don’t invite panic in too often, but I have similar friends. The next time Lori Anderson asks “why do you follow a blog?” I am going to point to your writing.

  22. February 27, 2011 9:12 am

    I love what you did with the colors.

  23. February 27, 2011 9:40 am

    Yummie colors, yummie piece!

  24. February 27, 2011 12:18 pm

    gorgeous! That design promises us that spring is on its way. Just gorgeous.

  25. February 27, 2011 12:39 pm

    Such lovely Spring colors. I also was out of my comfort zone. Ito took me nearly the whole month to think of a design!

  26. February 27, 2011 3:17 pm

    Love it and it definitely feels sooo springy!

  27. February 27, 2011 5:31 pm

    it’s like an Easter basket!

  28. February 27, 2011 5:33 pm

    What the heck does brevity mean? LOL! I loved the post and I think Panic and Procrastination visit me when they aren’t with you. Great design. I adore how you pulled it together to create something fun, flowing, and COLORFUL!

  29. February 27, 2011 6:22 pm

    For someone working so far out of her comfort zone, you made one heck of a beautiful piece!! I love how you did “color zones” along the necklace rather than mixing them all up; I’d never thought of that before and can’t wait to try it. I also enjoyed reading about the process you went through to make this piece — thank you for sharing it all!

  30. February 27, 2011 7:31 pm

    Hey fellow crazy woman…so glad the swirling cloud of your creative energy swept you in a positive direction because you came up with some kickass pieces!!!

  31. February 27, 2011 9:49 pm

    Gracious! For all that panicking, you did quite an exceptionally lovely job. Your necklace just SCREAMS Easter/Spring to me in all it’s pastel/Easter egg yumminess. Now I’m craving Cadbury eggs. . .

  32. February 27, 2011 9:54 pm

    Thank you SO much for sharing like you did! I would’ve been “stuck” with that color scheme too! You did a wonderful job! Angela

  33. February 27, 2011 9:56 pm

    The little wire swirlies are great. They really add such whimsy to the necklace. This is perfect for summer! Beautiful!

  34. February 27, 2011 11:59 pm

    Aw, such pretty pastel colors! I like the way you arranged them, almost like blooming from winter to spring. Reminds me of Easter and finding treasures in hidden eggs. 🙂 Love your design, but also your story, too. Nicely done, nicely done. ^__^

  35. February 28, 2011 12:11 am

    This is one delicious piece!!! Really very very Pretty! and I loved the slide show. Welcome to the land of more than one color at a time….( I skimmed through your post) … You now posses the key to this fair land and you are doing it quite well!!!

  36. February 28, 2011 3:36 am

    The first thing that I saw was the gorgeous pastel colours that you graded, gorgeous, you put it all so beautifully. Nice job ^_^ Virginie ViviBijoux.com

  37. February 28, 2011 3:37 am

    Love your story to go alongside the piece – which is gorgeous, by the way! Beautiful delicate spring tones and the tornadoes punctuate it perfectly!

  38. Stephanie LaRosa permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:49 am

    Such a pretty necklace!!

  39. February 28, 2011 10:05 am

    Not only is your piece absolutely delish, but your story is wonderful. Your work is great!

  40. February 28, 2011 12:15 pm

    So, instead of running me off with the comment about a long story, you totally drew me in. I was so enthralled with the flow of color in the necklace. Loved Panic telling you to use silver, cause those tornados ROCK! You did an awesome job, and gave me lots of chuckles with the story. 🙂

  41. February 28, 2011 12:50 pm

    A rather delightful design and your soup is to die for those beads absolutely stunning. Be Blessed

  42. February 28, 2011 5:03 pm

    Loved your story! On the rare occasions that Panic and I meet she makes me less productive usually so I tend to avoid her like that chic at the party that’s had one too many and is getting LOUD. I love your piece and would never have guessed that this was a challenge for you if I hadn’t read the story. Awesome job!

  43. February 28, 2011 5:21 pm

    Every single one of these comments has brought such a smile to my face — thank you, everybody, for your kind comments and funny insights … seems like that Panic chick really gets around!

  44. February 28, 2011 6:20 pm

    I have my own nickname (from the voice in my head) “Last Minute Lisa”…but you did a great job on your soup. Love the colors

  45. February 28, 2011 9:16 pm

    How sweet! Love this very spring-time piece. You did an awesome job of pulling everything together!

  46. February 28, 2011 11:46 pm

    So so pretty! I love your ccolours. Very lovely!!

  47. March 1, 2011 8:06 am

    Great post…. I like your wizard of OZ story… and your piece invokes a vision of spring not the endless white that I’m seeing outside my window today! I spread my story out over three bead soup posts you have to scroll back through my blog to find the entire story!

  48. March 1, 2011 11:15 am

    I think you did a wonderful job. I love the way you brought all the color together. (I grew up in Missouri and too, remember all the tornado drills, trips to the basement and never sure what you’d find when you went upstairs if it was bad enough) But you did a great job with it all.

  49. March 2, 2011 2:08 pm

    Fabulous BEAD SOUP Friend!!! I love what you designed with all your components… Beautiful work!Thanks for sharing your creativity!!
    Smiles,
    Susie

  50. March 2, 2011 7:45 pm

    Love it, love the lampwork, love the time you put into your post!

  51. March 3, 2011 11:02 am

    Lovely spring necklace. You received beautiful beads and designed a beautiful necklace. Love your Yellow Brick Road story!

  52. March 3, 2011 11:54 am

    Very pretty necklace I like it!
    Jackie

  53. March 3, 2011 12:20 pm

    What a beautiful spring necklace! The colours feel soft but still brimming with vitality. I really like how you worked with the colours, using each colour in a separate section. Very effectful!

  54. March 3, 2011 8:54 pm

    You did a great job with all those colors `;~)

    I really enjoyed your story!

  55. March 4, 2011 10:49 am

    I am still doing the hop as I am loving exploring the blogs. I just wanted to let you know how gorgeous your necklace is and I very much enjoyed your story.

  56. March 5, 2011 8:13 pm

    Love your necklace, the way you showcase the fabulous beads. Pretty!

  57. March 5, 2011 8:19 pm

    What a gorgeous piece… the colours are so soft and pretty. Well done!

    Karyn
    Australia

  58. March 6, 2011 4:49 pm

    You really stepped up to the challenge. Its beautiful vibrant colorful and it works. Ah and so spring like.

  59. March 6, 2011 10:03 pm

    Pretty 🙂 Very springy!

  60. March 7, 2011 1:11 pm

    I love how you grouped your colors of beads! Very unique! I think you conquered color beautifully! Wonderful necklace!
    I had stressful moments with my soup, too!

  61. March 8, 2011 9:58 pm

    Shea, you know how to make gorgeous jewelry and you know how to spin a good tale…I had to read the whole thing. “Panic” seemed to be your friend in the end!!!

    I appreciated your comment about the photo of my BSBP creation.

    #2 Kitty

  62. March 10, 2011 12:22 pm

    Thank you for sharing the story of how you put your soup goodies together! I love the story of Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz and I am like you, I would seriously think about opening the door after the house came down. Bring on the biscuits and gravy I say! I also like the little “tornado’s” you incorporated into the piece, which is perfect for Indiana weather right now. You, and Panic, did a fabulous job! Love it all!

  63. March 10, 2011 12:24 pm

    Well, if you receive a repeat of my comment I apologize. I thought I hit post comment and I am not sure if it took.

    I will say it again, you did a fabulous job with the beads you received!

  64. March 10, 2011 1:07 pm

    Thanks, Beth — I can never hear kind words too many times 🙂

  65. March 11, 2011 11:53 am

    Your piece makes me hope that Spring will be here soon (even in rural VT) but I loved your story the best! Thanks for sharing it!

  66. March 20, 2011 1:15 pm

    Great story to go with your colorful soup. Love the way you decided to divide the colors and your little tornados are perfect connectors for all that colorful chaos!! Very nice piece. Glad you stretched your wings!

Leave a Reply

