Skip to content

Time to Get Cooking!

February 10, 2011

A glimpse through frosted glass of the soup ingredients I sent my Bead Soup partner, Stephanie

Light the fire! Who is chopping the onions? Somebody get me a hair net! It’s time to kick this Bead Soup party into high gear and get ready for the big reveal.

While it may seem from the distinct lack of posts that I fell off the face of the universe after having finally reached the ecstasy of seeing my first treasury make it to the front page of Etsy, let me assure you people that has hardly been the case.

As luck would have it I’m preparing for a show-type event later this month. My friends Danielle and Chris own Clayote, a pottery studio in nearby Boyertown, and they regularly have all kinds of great events (cool concerts, yoga classes, potlucks). So I’ll be there, along with several other vendors, musicians, vintners and spa providers on Friday the 25th, showing off my jewelry. Send me an email if you’re interested in knowing more.

I’ve also been sent an AMAZING collection of beads from my bead soup partners, Stephanie and Chris Haussler of Pixybug Designs. Here’s a link to the pictures she took of my ingredients. I’ve got another editorial project on the front burner, so unfortunately I haven’t been able to construct my project yet. But we’ll be having our big reveal on the 26th, so please check back. I’ll try to offer a sneak peak of my creation before then if I can.

Here’s the interesting this about this lampworking stuff. As I was sitting at our kitchen table, holding Chris’ beautiful focal bead up to the light and marveling at the intricacy of his work, my dear husband stumbled into the room. (editor’s note: He didn’t actually stumble, but he does have a slight Dick Van Dyke quality to his entrances that I find endearing). Anyway, I was quick to show him the beautiful beads, and as I was explaining to him the way Chris and Stephanie (and even their daughter, Mina) collaborate, with Chris doing the lampworking and Stephanie doing the beading, he interrupted me to say, “So what is it about guys and lampworking?”

“I’m not sure what you mean … like, why do guys like lampworking?” (editor’s note: our friend, Robi, is the local lampworking talent and he often sets up demonstrations around town; he has a gift for making it look really cool and macho, and frankly I think this is the limit to Stan’s information that supports his “guys like lampworking” theory.)

“Yeah. It just seems that it would be a neat thing to learn how to do.”

At this point, I think my jaw may have hit the floor. Of course, I’m not exactly sure because a feather floated by and knocked me on my ass.

“You mean you would be interested in learning how to make lampwork beads … for ME?” My mind started racing a mile a minute as the possibilities started sinking in. I’m not sure who else he would make lampwork beads for, but suddenly I was thinking about how well Stan has always been able to carve things out of wood and clay … I thought about how patiently he taught our son how to carve bars of Ivory soap and how I’ve always gone back and forth about making a more formal studio space … I thought about a KILN! And the eventual reality that our sons are going to go off to college some day in the not too distant future, leaving me and Stan in the dust and nearly penniless. We could pack it all into an RV and hit the craft show circuit. I thought about the kind of dog we would need to share our adventure.

“Umm … Well, I think they offer some classes at the Banana Factory. We should look into it!”

Unfortunately, the next classes don’t start up for another couple of months. But little does Stan realize that the gears have been set in motion for him to become my beading partner (editor’s note: I have no idea how to imbed obnoxious music into a blog post, but if I did you would now hear nefarious laughter and be forced to close out this page out of sheer logic and rightful fright).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 3:09 pm

    Shea- I loved this blog! I like how a lot of blogs sound quite a lot like rants! 😉 I also have noticed that a lot of men make lampwork beads! I tried to get a local artist to make some for me but he wouldn’t lower the price to something (I considered) reasonable! arg! My husband asked me why don’t I just do it myself since I have a torch… well, I know nothing about making lampwork beads and would prefer to take a class or just have someone else do it! So if your hubby starts making them, he’d have a customer in me!
    -Ashley

  2. February 10, 2011 3:47 pm

    Thanks, Ashley! Glad you like my blog. From what I understand about lampworking (which is very little), it’s one of those crafts that takes a little time to learn and a lifetime to master … but I’ll definitely be the first in line if Stan takes a liking to it! Will keep you posted.

  3. February 11, 2011 11:26 am

    I love the name “Banana Factory”! We have an artist’s working studio space nearish to here called “The Torpedo Factory” — they used to make actual torpedos there during the war — what’s the story behind the bananas?

    • February 11, 2011 12:12 pm

      Yes, I was in Alexandria last fall and so bummed to be there at night when the Torpedo Factory was closed. Our Banana Factory is similar I think. It was once a warehouse that distributed bananas and it sits in the shadow of the Bethlehem Steel plant. Pretty cool spot really, but I don’t think the views of the Lehigh River are quite as impressive as the Potomac.

  4. February 11, 2011 1:32 pm

    You are too funny Shea! Those gears in your head turn pretty fast when they get going!!! When Chris is torching at shows, you should see all the men and boys gathered round him! I always say it goes back to the Caveman Days! (Look Ogg Fire GOOD!) :0) If you have any questions, though it sounds like you have other source for info, just drop us a line, we can help anyway we can!
    Steph

    • February 11, 2011 3:02 pm

      Thanks, Stephanie ~ I’d love to line Stan up with people he can get advice from! Of course, now that I think about it, I may have also sat there muttering about what a lucky lady you are to be married to your very own lampwork artist …. a gentle hint never hurts, right?

  5. February 11, 2011 6:45 pm

    Sounds ideal to me! It also sounds like he may have the patience
    I love the turning wheels, I have been trying for some time now to get a better studio, approaching it from the aspect of having an adjoining garage for the car! Hasn’t worked yet, but you never know!
    I think it would be bliss to have a co-operative approach and something to share down the track.
    Good luck with all that, lamp working is a fantastic craft, I just love it!

  6. February 12, 2011 7:54 am

    I love this! Sounds like a partnership made in heaven. I can’t wait to see how it goes.

  7. February 13, 2011 7:22 pm

    LOL That made me laugh I can see the whole vision in your head! hahahaha I hope it all works out cause it sounds awesome! : )

Leave a Reply

