Skip to content

What Would YOU Call this Shop?

January 26, 2011
www.gr8findings.wordpress.com

Just a small glimpse of the package I've assembled for my bead swap partners ... the excitement is killing me!

So as mentioned earlier, I’m thrilled to be participating in another Lori Anderson Bead Soup Challenge. Lori has over 200 people participating this time around, and I was lucky enough to be paired with a lampworking studio, the wonderful Pixybug Design couple Stephanie and Chris Haussler. Their package arrived earlier this week, but with a great deal of difficulty I’ve avoided opening it (check back soon to see what it contains).

Of course, while I’m sitting here glowing in all my good luck, Stephanie is a very lucky lady, too ~ not only is her husband a torch master extraordinaire, but she also has the good fortune to work part-time in a bead shop AND she is headed to Tuscon. She is packing a good camera for the trip, and Chris has vowed to step in and update their blog on while she is away on the adventure, so I can’t wait to tune in and see how it goes.

Okay. But back to my situation. So what, you may wonder, do you make for someone who has access to so many fine beads and resources? She’s going to Tuscon, people! Well, I sat and puzzled over that for a good long time, too. In fact, I nearly panicked at the thought. And then I just went to it and found myself creating something so lovely I think I’m headed back to the beading table to try to make one for myself.

I’d love to show you want I finally came up with, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise for Stephanie, so here’s just a quick snapshot of some of the silver treats she’ll find. Of course, that brings me to the title for this blog post … Have you ever noticed how well a macro lens reveals dust? I mean, WOW! I’ve always liked the sort of gritty look that gently used props lend my work, but after this last series of pictures I’m thinking that I should either invest in an industrial-size vat of Endust or change my shop name to “The Dirty Bead” … As my Grandma Thelma always used to say, “If the name fits …”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie Haussler permalink
    January 26, 2011 9:35 pm

    Thanks for the wonderful post Shea! I am SO excited for my package to get here!

  2. January 28, 2011 5:04 pm

    LOL!!! I ONCE took a series of pictures on black velvet to send to someone who wanted to buy a necklace PFFFFFFFFFFFFFT. holy moly looked like bad dandruff!!!!)….as opposed to good dandruff???) hahahahaha Never again – learned my lesson. You are a very lucky gal! I can’t wait to see what you get. I love my partner – don’t tell Lori but I think we are really more alike then different! have a great weekend! Patty

  3. January 30, 2011 6:14 pm

    Aw, man, I can’t wait!

  4. February 9, 2011 10:08 pm

    I’d call it pretty darn silvertastic! Congrats on your first front page on Etsy by the way. I would be pretty excited if it were me! Nice work – 🙂 Looking forward to your soup creation. Lisa

Leave a Reply

