Skip to content

A present for myself

January 5, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome back! I hope everyone had a fantastic holiday. I am now officially a PS3 widow as my husband and sons have found yet another way to bond in front of a video screen, but the upside for me is that I can now enjoy watching hundreds of Netflix movies as I quietly make my jewelry in the other room. Always looking on the bright side — that’s  me!

Anyway, as I may have mentioned earlier, my holiday season was all the sweeter  because I shopped extensively on Etsy and at handmade craft shows for practically all my gifts this year (not surprisingly, Stan handled the PS3 purchase and managed to find some beautiful wood cutting boards for my kitchen and upcycled silver spoon earrings for my ears — why a guy). Naturally, I didn’t want to leave myself out of the Etsy mix, especially when I stumbled over the gorgeous lampwork you see in these photos — they’re from Amanda Cargill Austin, the talented artist behind Sea Shore Glass. Aren’t they amazing?

I don’t think my photos do them justice, but she has managed to capture the most incredible blend of blue and metallic teal in these beads. They look like the rods and cones of the eye, and I honestly had to sit down and stare at them for a good long time when I first opened her package. I ended up created a necklace design using only 3 of my six beads because I couldn’t bear to put them all into just one piece. The spiral wrapping detail is not typically my style, and it’s hard for me not to be critical looking at them here in close up, but in terms of the bigger picture I rather like stepping outside the “box” so to speak when making something for myself. And from a distance, when wearing this, the spirals look more like leaves or tendrils, which is fitting for beads that feel so regal. If you’re interested, Amanda also maintains a great blog, and I heartily recommend you check it out if you’re as impressed with her work as I am.

I’d stick around and tell you more because I could clearly wax poetic on Amanda’s work all day, but I think WWIII is exploding in the other room. Better go check that out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 6:22 pm

    OHMYLANTA! You are such a doll! I just love what you’ve done with the pieces, I am always so very proud of each and every one of my little boro babies, they always move on to become part of the most gorgeous jewelry designs! Thank you so much for sharing, you created something quite amazing! Now I look forward to seeing what you do with the others! 🙂

  2. January 7, 2011 1:18 am

    Love those beads – thanks for telling us about her!

Leave a Reply

