Skip to content

Many Blessings

December 23, 2010

“Leap and the net shall appear …”  

 

Who first crafted that saying? I can’t tell you how many times those words have crossed my mind in the past 8 months since I started my online enterprise.  Here’s another:

“Open an online jewelry shop and the orders will come in…”

I wrote that one. It’s not nearly as clever, but I’m thrilled to say it’s been true. The past few weeks especially have been a thrill and affirmation that I wasn’t completely crazy to open an Etsy shop. Especially after the disappointment of black Friday/cyber Monday, I just wasn’t sure what to expect, but then the orders started rolling in. Fortunately, it wasn’t too overwhelming — I still found time to finish my own shopping (almost done) and bake a few fruitcakes for my sweet husband, but nearly every day I was making a trip to the post office to send another package out.

Even better? I made a point of buying something for everyone on my Christmas list from other Etsy stores. Now that has really piqued their interest, especially with my sons who seem to harbor a little lingering worry as to what I might have found for them … of course they haven’t said that explicitly, but we’ll just chalk that up to a mother’s intuition.

As far as all the items that I sold, I maintain strict confidentiality with my customers, so I can’t really talk about any of that in specifics. But let me just say that  I get a little misty-eyed thinking about Christmas morning and all those little gr8findings that will be under some Christmas trees. I love thinking about of the unique pieces I created, many from just a little piece of wire or lump of silver clay … being unwrapped and worn by people far and wide. I seriously felt my heart flutter just now as I typed those words.

So as this amazing year draws to a close, I’m realizing that a nearly impossible task is before me — how can I even begin to thank all the people who helped me reach this point? If you had asked me this time last year if I thought I’d be here, I would have laughed heartily. Maybe I would have even snorted a little bit. It’s not like I’ve made a million dollars on Etsy–the money really isn’t even the point … it’s that I’ve been able to find a way to create and share my passion, as well as very tangible objects people wear to express themselves, and I’ve done it all on a very manageable scale without having to take out a loan or open a bricks and mortar store and have a ribbon-cutting ceremony and all the worries that come with that sort of business.

OK. Here goes. Let me start with the obvious — all the marvelous customers who found their way to my shop and decided to purchase a little piece of my heart. Thank you for supporting the handmade arts scene and celebrating the creative process. I hope each of you enjoys what I have made for you as much as I enjoyed making it. And of course big thanks would also go to Lorelei, Lori Anderson, the Handmade in Pennsylvania team and all the amazing bloggers who have hosted and participated in design challenges and blog hops that pushed me in new directions, as well as the countless Estians who have put my work in a treasury, offered great advice and made me laugh when I needed it. I honestly couldn’t be in better company. And thanks to my family and friends who listened to my endless fretting about silver prices, jiggling earrings, photo editing and late night jewelry benders and then told me they never doubted I could do it — I really appreciated it when you bought a things from my store, especially because I knew you were doing it because you really wanted to have what I had made.

I’m not sure if this will be my last blog post for the year, but if it is just know that I am very much looking forward to a new year full of amazing possibilities, and I hope you are, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

