Skip to content

Fighting the Brain Fog

August 9, 2010
http://www.gr8findings.wordpress.com

Somehow I recently mustered the ability to list these hammered silver earrings in my store ... maybe I should make some more ... hammering would do me good right about now.

Over the past week, it seems I’ve slipped into a serious case of brain fog that has interfered with my ability to write coherent blog posts or make beautiful jewelry. Maybe this afternoon’s cloudiness was the result of eating one too many hot dogs (I found these hardwood smoked turkey franks with no added nitrates, which seemed like a good excuse for potato rolls, but I just don’t do white bread anymore, so a few potato rolls almost had me in a coma).

More likely the cause for the fog has been because my husband and son have embarked on a grand motorcycle road trip for the next three weeks and left me and my younger son to tend the fort (or 3-bedroom house as it were). In between trying to keep up with their posts from the road, my younger son’s near-insatiable desire to  have me constantly suggest “fun” things for him to do (evidently practicing violin doesn’t fit in that category), the dogs and garden and all the household stuff, not to mention the inevitable shift in my sleeping patterns (because television at 2 in the morning is every bit as bad as you think it might be), I’m frankly have a tough time of it.

Good thing BeadFest is just around the corner. I’ve not signed up for any classes, but I’m really looking forward to spending some time down there feeling the “bead vibe” from being around so many other bead enthusiasts.  Nothing like a little shopping therapy to get me out of my funk.

What about you? How do you deal with things when your routine changes?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 11:24 pm

    I love the earrings! I know what you mean about being out of sorts lately. Summer generally does that to me, because it’s so wretchedly hot in Phoenix. I’m very much a creature of habit and appreciate “routine”. I don’t take well to routine changes, either. Have fun at Bead Fest – buying beads usually helps with the blues. 🙂

  2. wikitwinmom permalink
    August 21, 2010 10:23 pm

    I love the earrings in the photo, so much so I just tried to buy them but then they disappeared when I tried to click on “commit to buy.” Did I mess upon Etsy? Will you make more?!

    As for routine, we are very much creatures of routine and schedules and its tough to deviate. When Jeff was traveling so much last year, I tended to stay up way too late. It was weird but I simply couldn’t help myself!

    Love the Ural blog!

    • August 25, 2010 7:37 pm

      Hi Pam — Thanks so much for following along — I’ve just gotten back home today from CT, but I think everything went through. I’ll put these in the mail to you tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

