Skip to content

Around the World and Back Again

August 3, 2010
www.gr8findings.wordpress.com

A recent addition to my store ... Why the turquoise nugget in the middle of the black beads? If you buy the necklace it’s your story to finish. You provide the answer for that one.

Exactly four months ago I opened my Etsy account, Gr8Findings. It took about a month before I had the store officially open, with banners, policy pages, inventory and such, and it took another couple of weeks after that for me to start my promotion efforts.  However, it’s amazing to me how quickly things have started to move. This morning I took a long look at my Google Analytics report, and I thought it would be interesting to share some of the details.

Since May 16 (when a tech genius friend showed me how to hook up with Google Analytics), I’ve had 914 visits to my store. Like most Etsians, I’m hooked on the instant information the internet can provide, so I’m regularly checking my item views in my shop with tools like Statsy and Craftcult. I love to see how the numbers jump whenever I list something or offer a little post on Facebook or in the Etsy forums. But I was frankly surprised to think close to 1,000 times in the last 2 1/2 months people have found their way to my store and seen my work.

And they’ve come from all over the world! Thirty-two countries, to be exact. Most, of course, have been from Canada, Australia and the UK … but what about that 8 minute visit from someone in Russia! As far as time goes, I have to think that when that the person in Jerusalem who spent close to a 1/2 an hour on my site must have left their browser open and become distracted by something else to account for all that time. I don’t think even my own mother would spend 1/2 an hour looking at my site.

Of course, most of my traffic has come from the United States. About 75% of it, in fact. And not surprisingly the largest percentage hails from my home state of Pennsylvania with the greatest concentration showing up in the Lehigh Valley/Philly areas. However,  assuming that I’d see traffic ripples radiating outward from my geographic center, I was shocked to see California make it to #2 on my list of top visits. About 10% of my total US visits hail from the Golden State, a mere 2,000+ miles away from here. They must love my jewelry there — the average visit from an Angeleno is close to 3 minutes!

Maybe there’s a correlation between Etsy followers in each state and the number of electoral votes they receive. For a minute there as I studied my Etsy sales map, I found myself  slipping into my old Aaron Sorkin/West Wing fantasies … I mean, what other explanation is there for the fact that after California, it was New York, Texas and Florida taking the cake for top number of visits to my store. Hmm … very interesting … I wonder what Rob Lowe would have to say about that …

All in all, I was thrilled to see 49 states (plus D.C) represented on that map … but that of course leaves one particular place to look forward to … want to hazard a guess? Here’s a pretty big hint — it was another gold rush state.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 12:11 am

    I love the turquoise nugget within the black beads! I love when you have just a monochrome color with a splash of brightness! I also appreciate your words about the Etsy thing. I’ve never even actually heard of Google Analytics.

    • August 4, 2010 12:49 am

      Thanks, Tara — the Analytics program can provide a LOT more info than might be helpful, but it is the easiest way to see and study bigger trends over the long haul. It’s actually not too hard to set up (as my computer genius friend pointed out once he was done), and there are a lot of good posts in the ETSY forums to walk you through it.

  2. August 4, 2010 6:48 pm

    I also love using the Google Analytics feature of Etsy. I haven’t studied my results as closely as you have, but you’ve inspired me to spend a little more time checking them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

