Skip to content

I’m BACK!

July 11, 2010

Hello peoples. I know it’s been a few weeks since my last post. Sorry if you missed me, but the Bead Soup party hosted by Lori Anderson was so amazingly awesome, it took me awhile to want to change my main page.

However, in the meantime, the kids finished school, my “baby” turned 15, we’ve suffered a crushing heatwave here in the mid-Atlantic, and despite it all I’ve been up to a lot. If you check out the “classes” page in the top right corner, you’ll see I’ve started to put together some pretty cool jewelry making classes; if you go to my Etsy page, you’ll see I’ve not added any new products in awhile (but trust me, there’s a lot coming as soon as I finish editing photos and writing copy); and if you happened to be sitting right next to me here and were to look in my shopping bags you’d see I’ve found some fun things in the past few weeks. I’ve posted some pictures of my favorites so you can see what I mean.

The pendant on the left is a truly amazing find that I picked up while attending the big Etsy festivities at the Underwired Boutique in Bethlehem. It’s the work of the brilliant Rachel Betty Case, who describes herself aptly with her URL —that woman makes crazy art — and this beautiful piece, which she calls “human ivory,” is actually composed of nail clippings suspended in resin. The first time I saw her work, turning each item over in my hands to study the suspended objects from all sides, I felt like that crazy little scientist guy in Jurrasic Park cooing over the bugs suspended in amber. Unfortunately, the small size of the pendant and my macro lens weren’t working well together today, so I couldn’t capture this effect for you in a picture. However, you can see more of Rachel Betty’s work on her Etsy site, and if you enjoy reading the missives of possibly crazy people I urge you to check out her main website to read the letter of a person who was enraged by her “human ivory” display at a craft show. Its a fun read.

The other lampwork beads were my thrilling find at the Kutztown Folk Festival. The amazing Louise Mehaffey had a booth there, and it was all I could do to keep to a budget and not go totally bezerk with the tray of $2 beads she had set out. You see, I’ve been a fan of Louise’s work ever since I started attending Innovative Bead Expos here in my neck of the woods. Of course, while I was checking out the other items in her booth, I got a kick out of listening to the guy ahead of me talk about how he uses his propane grill instead of a proper kiln to anneal his beads. I don’t know much about lampworking yet, but it sounded like some crazy talk to me.  Maybe the heat was getting to him.

Regardless, I’m headed back into the studio now to see what I can do with all of this, so there will be more jewelry adventures to fill in on soon! Stay cool!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

