Skip to content

Avoid the Procrastination Pit

June 16, 2010
Gr8Findings on Etsy

GOOD THINGS NEVER FADE. Like long-stem roses, ruby slippers, and the elusive color of Anne Curry's lipstick, these earrings are truly the perfect red

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan, ‘Press on,’ has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.” -Calvin Coolidge

Sure, it’s odd to start off a jewelry blog post with a quote from our 30th Commander In Chief, but somehow his message inspired me when I stumbled over it a few weeks ago, so much so that I copied it, pasted it into a post and promptly felt too overwhelmed to comment further. Now, faced with an overcast afternoon, a bunch of paperwork to file, some chickens in the fridge that need roasting and a table full of beading supplies that aren’t going to transform into jewelry by themselves, it caught my eye again. The words nudged my conscience, creating an odd itching sensation somewhere above my left ear. The slogan “Press On” lingered in my vision even when I closed my eyes.

Suddenly, I heard the voice of a favorite publisher I once worked for … her catchphrase was slightly different, but in the same spirit she would regularly remind us to “just keep moving.” In her gruff New York minute way, she would close down lengthy open-ended debates about which book projects to acquire by spreading her arms wide and pushing them forward, like a traffic cop navigating Times Square tourists during rush hour.  Even if we missed the boat on a particular project, she assured us, something else would come along. Something we could make just as good, if not better. That’s because it’s impossible to underestimate your own potential contribution to a particular project.

I was reminded, too, of the  “Keep Calm and Carry On” British propaganda messaging from the WWII era. My sister turned me on to that slogan, and I just love it. It’s so pithy and stern (less than 20 letters!), and that great sans serif font they used … well, let’s just say it’s a nice, straightforward declarative statement that doesn’t invite a lot of follow-up questions. It keeps you focused, which is exactly what I need when I’m teetering on the edge of procrastination.

OK. OKAY.  O-KAY — I really don’t need to hear it put to me another way … Three is enough. I’m going to get off my butt blog and get those chickens in the oven. Pronto. Just let me know what tricks you have for avoiding procrastination — I need all the help I can get.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

