Skip to content

Q: What Do Astronauts Use to Pickle Their Jewelry?

May 8, 2010

Last night, thanks to a post on Kerry Blogert’s wonderful blog, I found this new jewelry site, Jewelry Making Daily,  from the brilliant editors at Interweave Press. Personally, I think it’s going to be a great place to get inspiration and advice when I need it.

Taking a stroll through it, I felt like I was walking through a really nicely built show home before it’s furnished — it’s exceptionally well-organized with plenty of room for diverse and interesting topics — they make it so inviting, it’s easy to imagine living there. But for all its luster, there’s just not a lot of content there. Yet. In fact, the forums had only a few posts in them (quite a change of pace compared to the Etsy forums). I look forward to seeing what the site looks like 6 months from now after its gotten a little messy and lived in.

Anyway, one particular thread caught my eye on the topic of pickles. I’m always interested in knowing about less toxic alternatives to the products typically used in metalsmithing. I had heard about citric acid (aka lemon juice) being a natural way to get rid of firescale, but evidently Tang can do the trick, too. You remember Tang, right? The powdered orange juice alternative that astronauts drank? Well, I’ve probably not had Tang in 30 years or so (my mother always packed it along with cold poptarts for a quick roadside breakfast whenever we traveled), and I don’t think my kids have ever tasted it … but I’m so intrigued by the image of a bunch of astronauts getting their bead fix on while stuck in a little space capsule, I think I might try it! After all, can you think of a better way to fritter away your time in orbit?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

