Skip to content

My First Month Anniversary!!

May 6, 2010

Wow how a month can fly! I just realized that today is my 1 month anniversary for setting up this blog, but it literally feels like yesterday that I first started counting all the fingers and toes on this new little baby of mine.

For years I had fantasized about finding a way to share my jewelry passion with others, but my job placed a lot of creative demands on me, and what with family responsibilities and so forth, I just didn’t feel like I had the surplus energy to tackle the whole internet/blog/Etsy thing. There were, as I recall, dozens of good reasons why my beading and metalsmithing projects came in fits and starts, but it all ultimately boiled down to the age-old problem of not enough hours in the day.

And then something wonderful happened. I was laid off during the big economic meltdown of 2008. Don’t get me wrong ~ being laid off after nearly 15 years with a company can be a mighty upsetting life event. I was a full-time cookbook editor,  which truly is a dream job,  and my company and the people who worked there were an inspiration to me every day. But leaving my old job provided such a great opportunity for some much-needed wing stretching, I can’t look back on any of it as a bad thing.

I still work on cookbooks, but it’s refreshing to find my skills translate well into the handmade craft world, too. Now I’ve seen enough posts in the blogosphere to know that not all beaders consider themselves cooks, so you might be wondering to yourself, “Beading and cooking, really?”  But I promise I’ll write more about that down the road.

As for me and this little anniversary of mine, I never did find time to bake a cake today (that cute cake picture will have to do), but I was thrilled this morning when I found another way to celebrate. I learned about an upcoming Bead Soup Party and signed myself up (click on the link on the right to learn more)! It looks like a lot of amazing beaders/bloggers will be swapping beads and showing off their talent ~ taking a stroll through their sites I’m already in awe of their work ~ but I am so excited to participate. I just see wait to see what comes next!

One Comment leave one →
  1. deekie dew permalink
    May 6, 2010 9:22 pm

    just lolling the phrase around in my head:
    such a great opportunity for some much-needed wing stretching

    and then lolling it around again:
    such a great opportunity for some much-needed wing stretching

    your much-needed wing stretching is going to bear some delicious fruit.

    Hooray for you!

Leave a Reply

