Skip to content

The beauty of a simple link necklace

April 21, 2010

I’ve recently made a few very lovely little link necklaces that I ADORE, not just for the way they catch the light, but also for their versatility. I start by making some very small rings (2.5mm ID rings) out of 18-gauge Argentium and then just link them together and finish them off with a handmade hammered clasp. Simple right?

Well here’s the real beauty as I see it … These chains are the perfect starting point for all kinds of other creations without the waste that  usually accompanies using bulk chain (don’t you just HATE having to cut into a link and adding it to your scrap pile?!).  Once the Argentium wire is tumbled, the links are pretty strong, so I haven’t had any issues with links stretching open.

Anyway, I happened to have 5 gorgeous red lampwork beads sitting around, so I wrapped them onto some matching wire and added spacer beads on either side to cover up the wide holes. Then I separated my necklace rings in a few key places and attached my beads. How easy is that!

I made the basic necklace (without beads) to measure a standard 16 inches … check out the link to my Etsy store if you’re curious. However, my own personal style is to wear something a little longer, so once these beads were in place it was the perfect fit for me. Of course, if I had needed to remove a few links, there are plenty of other ways I could use those, too.  And naturally, there are other types of necklaces to make from this basic chain. More photos of those coming soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. rudi permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:21 am

    Beautiful work! Can’t wait to see more!

Leave a Reply

