Skip to content

Does “soft launch” = soft landing?

April 19, 2010

Pillows, dumplings, baby chicks, Kleenex … I like soft things, so this list could go on forever. But when it comes to these website projects, I’ve begun to realize that my tendencies toward procrastination and perfectionism (the evil twin traits of the entrepreneurially challenged) are not working in my favor. So I’ve decided to try to think soft here, too.

A “soft launch” basically means I”m going to start populating my store with things this week and will very quietly let my close friends and family know what I”m up to. A few lucky charms, some chains and jumprings … the stuff I suspect will be easier to sell. I know people are excited for me in these new endeavors, and I just need to relax and let things happen. I’ll try to envision clouds and fluffy things, too, if that helps my excitement feel less like anxiety.

Next, I’ll start spreading some tendrils for this website … commenting on some of the forums where crafters gather, putting together some more project-related posts, adding some links here and there so it’s better connected to all the cool stuff going on out there.

Like most things in life, these web-based endeavors don’t just happen overnight. It’s a process that can take months to ramp up. So I’m coming to realize there’s no reason to worry about letting everyone on Facebook and all of Christendom know what I’m up to … yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

