Skip to content

Do beads make you salivate, too?

August 21, 2011

Honestly, it’s a little embarrassing to admit, but I’ll go ahead and be the first to put it out there. Beautiful beads have been known to make me salivate. And feel a little flush in the cheeks. And then I just stare at them all dewey-eyed, wondering how in the heck I’ll be able to do their beauty justice in a piece of jewelry made with my own two hands.

(In the interest of sharing, I’ll also point out that my husband claims to have a similar physiological reaction whenever he walks into a used bookstore, but this is my blog so let’s keep the focus on beads, shall we?)

So you can imagine my delight when my bead soup package arrived the other day from my partner K Hutchinson over at Jumbled Hutch. She is an Uh-MAZING visual artist. She paints. She makes very cool mixed media beads like this. She takes fantastic photographs everyday ~ and blogs much more steadily than yours truly.

And she sent me the most delicious soup mix.

K is so incredibly humble and gracious about her work, she sent me the sari ribbon and handmade pendant as a gift on top of my soup mix. But I tell you, just one look at the photos and I think it’s pretty clear that I’m going to have to incorporate that tasty bead she made into my design somehow. Doesn’t it just pop right to the top? If beads had a scent, this one would smell like fresh bread coming right out of the oven. Or cinnamon rolls perhaps.

Of course, being a few days behind on this project, I realize that I never posted a picture of what I sent K … Please take a look at K’s photos of the beads she received (for some dumb WordPress reason if I try to post my own pics in this post it messes up the gallery shot above).

Anyway, you’ll want to stay tuned to see what we create with all of these lovely supplies. Here’s a link to the list of other blog participants ~ the big reveal is September 17th. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about my creative agony before then, but something tells me this particular batch of soup is going to go down pretty easy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 8:13 pm

    I can’t stand bead soup too! Jaspers, acrylic beads. You’re very lucky! Happy crafting ♥

    dita

  2. August 21, 2011 9:23 pm

    Oh Shea, you are so sweet! I can’t wait to see what you do with the “soup” I sent you! I agree noting like a beads to make your senses go bad!

  3. August 22, 2011 1:40 pm

    I just saw the soup you sent her, but you received a nice mix too!
    Can’t wait to see what you both make!

    Ambra

  4. August 22, 2011 6:25 pm

    Delicious soup! I can’t wait to see it after you add a sprinkling of Shea.

  5. August 22, 2011 9:22 pm

    Yes! Beads give me a comfort feeling…close to the comfort of chicken soup, or mashed potatoes, or chocolate! The soup looks tasty, and I’ll look forward to your creation with them!
    And thank you for your kind comments on my blog/ quilt beads.

  6. Ann Sherwood permalink
    August 23, 2011 12:15 am

    Great soup, love the fibers with the beads.

  7. August 25, 2011 4:40 pm

    Ah-maz-ing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

