Skip to content

How I became a technological savant (but not really)

July 22, 2011

A tranquil moment on Uncas Pond, Old Lyme Connecticut ...

Well I’d love to be one of those regular bloggers who puts videos into their posts, but for the life of me I can’t figure out how in the heck to get this to work. Here’s a link to the video I wanted to show you. Given this heat wave, I’d give anything to be on that lake right now. And for the life of me, every time I hear Eli give that Tarzan yell it cracks me up.

However, I do wish that this sort of technical conundrum didn’t make me want to pull my hair out, spin my head around a few times like Linda Blair and stomp on my computer until it was reduced to a trash heap of wires, plastic and broken glass. The reason I’m prone to such tantrums? Let’s blame it on the smart phone, shall we?

About a year ago I received an Android for my birthday, and very quickly that little phone became my life link to the outside world. Suddenly I was able to give meaning to those many idle minutes spent waiting for my kids to come of out a building when I’m playing mom taxi, or waiting for a concert to begin, or waiting for friends to meet me for lunch, or riding a bus, or … well, you get the picture. And if you’re part of the 21st century, I’m sure you’ve discovered the pleasure of a smart phone, too.

But what about getting that little piece of plastic to do your bidding? Naturally I was thrilled to learn there were Etsy apps that let me stay in touch with my store without being in front of my actual computer screen. And signing up for Square Up made my last trunk show a resounding success. The day that I figured out (by myself, thank you very much) how to “tether” my phone so I could use it as a modem for my laptop? HEAVEN!

So the day that I was at the cabin with my sister and she started talking about wanting to upload videos from her phone to Facebook … I felt like a master of the universe when I found the app that could help me do that. The little clip I linked to above went straight from my phone to the FB universe in about 10 minutes. Imagine that!

But let me tell you, folks, that ecstasy came crashing down around me this evening as I tried (unsuccessfully) to embed a link to the above video into my little Word Press blog. Truth be told, my method for troubleshooting doesn’t extend far beyond “copy link / paste link / preview post / grind teeth / repeat,” and I probably should have given a holler to my dear husband who is the resident computer guru of the household, but a strange mix of pride and desire for technological independence kept me from going that route.

Maybe he’ll read this post and figure out a way to offer a few gentle “pointers” that don’t make me feel like a complete loser. Are you picking up on this, honey?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 10:59 pm

    I feel your pain. I once tried to link a video of my kiddos to my blog only to fail miserably. I since learned that you have to join Videopress.com and pay $60/yr to have an easy way (or perhaps the only way) to do so. Not thrilled to pay that much for an occasional video so no videos on my blog. And you are one up on me because I have no clue how to post a video to Facebook from either my computer or my iPhone. Anyway, let me know if you (or Stan) comes up with a different/better way to embed video.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

